May 12, 2014 @ 03:09 pm by Patricia Wells

As of May 1, 2014, the Canadian government has announced the following changes to the Federal Skilled Workers (FSW) program. These changes will allow qualified applicants and their families to immigrate permanently to Canada – without first having a job offer in Canada – as long as they have at least one year experience in one of 50 new “eligible occupations” and meet immigration requirements.  Details are explained here:  

IMPORTANT: Applications will only be accepted in the FSW program from May to December 2014

Eligibility criteria:

The applicant must have at least one year of continuous, full-time (or an equal amount of part-time) paid work experience, in a NOC 0, A, or B occupation within the last ten years


  1. have an offer of arranged employment and LMO in a NOC 0, A, or B occupation


  1. have  at least one year of continuous, full-time (or an equal amount of part-time) paid work experience, in one of the following 50 “eligible occupations”  (2011 National Occupational Classification (NOC) code is included in brackets):
  1. Senior managers – financial, communications and other business services (0013)
  2. Senior managers – trade, broadcasting and other services, n.e.c. (0015)
  3. Financial managers (0111)
  4. Human resources managers (0112)
  5. Purchasing managers (0113)
  6. Insurance, real estate and financial brokerage managers (0121)
  7. Managers in health care (0311)
  8. Construction managers (0711)
  9. Home building and renovation managers (0712)
  10. Managers in natural resources production and fishing (0811)
  11. Manufacturing managers (0911)
  12. Financial auditors and accountants (1111)
  13. Financial and investment analysts (1112)
  14. Securities agents, investment dealers and brokers (1113)
  15. Other financial officers (1114)
  16. Professional occupations in advertising, marketing and public relations (1123)
  17. Supervisors, finance and insurance office workers (1212)
  18. Property administrators (1224)
  19. Geoscientists and oceanographers (2113)
  20. Civil engineers (2131)
  21. Mechanical engineers (2132)
  22. Electrical and electronics engineers (2133)
  23. Petroleum engineers (2145)
  24. Information systems analysts and consultants (2171)
  25. Database analysts and data administrators (2172)
  26. Software engineers and designers (2173)
  27. Computer programmers and interactive media developers (2174)
  28. Mechanical engineering technologists and technicians (2232)
  29. Construction estimators (2234)
  30. Electrical and electronics engineering technologists and technicians (2241)
  31. Industrial instrument technicians and mechanics (2243)
  32. Inspectors in public and environmental health and occupational health and safety (2263)
  33. Computer network technicians (2281)
  34. Nursing co-ordinators and supervisors (3011)
  35. Registered nurses and registered psychiatric nurses (3012)
  36. Specialist physicians (3111)
  37. General practitioners and family physicians (3112)
  38. Dietitians and nutritionists (3132)
  39. Audiologists and speech-language pathologists (3141)
  40. Physiotherapists (3142)
  41. Occupational therapists (3143)
  42. Respiratory therapists, clinical perfusionists and cardiopulmonary technologists (3214)
  43. Medical radiation technologists (3215)
  44. Medical sonographers (3216)
  45. Licensed practical nurses (3233)
  46. Paramedical occupations (3234)
  47. University professors and lecturers (4011)
  48. Psychologists (4151)
  49. Early childhood educators and assistants (4214)
  50. Translators, terminologists and interpreters (5125)

(There is a cap of 1,000 applications per year in each of the above occupations, and a total cap of 25,000 applications in all the above “eligible occupations”. There is no cap on the number of applications submitted with an offer of arranged employment plus LMO.)


3.   be an international student with at least 2 years’ study towards a Ph.D. (or received the Ph.D. in Canada within the past 12 months) (cap of 500 applications per year May 2014 to April 2015)

In addition to meeting one of the above eligibility criteria, all FSW applicants must:


  • have an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) of your educational qualifications, from one of the following recognized assessment agencies:


(1)   International Credential Assessment Service of Canada (


(2)   Comparative Education Service – University of Toronto School of continuing Studies (


(3) World Education Services (


  • meet language requirements – Canadian Language Benchmark 7  in all four language skill areas (speaking, listening, reading and writing) in the IELTS or CELPIP test (English) or TEF (French)


  • have sufficient settlement funds – $11,115 to approx. $30,000 depending on family size (not required if there is an offer of arranged employment)


  • meet the passmark of 67 points on the 5-factor point system:


Selection Factor

Maximum points

English and/or French skills 28
Education 25
Experience 15
Age (under 36 = 12 points) 12
Arranged employment in Canada 10
Adaptability 10
Total 100


Please contact us if you have questions about the FSW program, or if you want to know if you qualify. 

Leave Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Word Verification (please enter the words as seen):